Types of anxiety:

There are seven types of anxiety disorder according to the American DSM IV. This classification has been drawn up by psychiatrists and psychologists. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders IV was drawn up in the USA by the American Psychiatric Association in 1994 and covers Anxiety Disorders. The 7 anxiety disorders are:

  • Generalised Anxiety Disorder
  • Panic Disorder
  • Social Phobia
  • Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
  • Specific Phobias
  • Agoraphobia

The World Health Organisation International Classification of Diseases (ICD 10) drawn up in 1994 and  based on the American DSM III defines 9 types of anxiety disorder:

  • Agoraphobia
  • Social phobias
  • Specific (isolated) phobias
  • Panic disorder
  • Generalised anxiety disorder
  • Obsessive–compulsive disorder
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Adjustment disorders
  • Dissociative disorders
  • Somatisation disorders

This website prefers the use of the DSM IV as the descriptions are more detailed and arguably more up to date. The DSM V is currently being prepared.

Visit the PanicAway Site Now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *